Canadian Pharmacists Association
Canadian Pharmacists Association

Alberta pharmacist Sherif Hanafy Mahmoud named 2024 Canadian Pharmacist of the Year

April 4, 2024 (Ottawa/Edmonton): CPhA’s 2024 Canadian Pharmacist of the Year stands as a beacon of excellence in the field of pharmacy and exemplifies how perseverance, curiosity and innovation can lead to improvements in health care and better outcomes for patients.

In an illustrious career characterized by remarkable achievements, Dr. Sherif Hanafy Mahmoud has excelled in diverse roles as a clinician, researcher, educator and leader. Currently serving as a neurocritical care pharmacist at the Neurosciences Intensive Care Unit at the University of Alberta Hospital (UAH), as well as a clinical professor and the associate dean, academic, at the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Alberta, Dr. Mahmoud's numerous awards, peer-reviewed publications and international presence underscore his significant impact on the profession throughout his career.

Dr. Mahmoud earned a pharmacy degree and master’s in clinical pharmacy from Ain-Shams University in Egypt before coming to Canada in 2005 to earn a PhD in pharmacokinetics at the University of Alberta. He is one of the first international pharmacy graduates to receive the Canadian Pharmacist of the Year award.

“The moment I learned of receiving the award was an emotional one,” he says. “Memories flooded back from my first day at pharmacy school in Cairo, recalling the many challenges and opportunities that shaped both my personal and professional journey. Receiving this award felt like a culmination of all the efforts and dedication I've poured into my career. I am truly grateful and humbled to receive such a prestigious award.”

An internationally recognized leader in his specialized field, Dr. Mahmoud led the integration of pharmacists into the neurocritical care team at UAH. With a dedication to translating research into practice change, he has developed and revised numerous drug therapy protocols and guided professional colleagues to help optimize care for patients with life-threatening neurological illnesses.

Dr. Mahmoud is a champion for diversity, equity and inclusion, leading initiatives promoting inclusivity and actively revising admission policies to foster diversity among pharmacy students. His efforts to promote cultural competence in patient care and ensure diversity in research participation highlight his ongoing commitment to advancing DEI in pharmacy.

“CPhA is incredibly proud to honour Dr. Mahmoud and the contributions that he has made to the evolution of the profession of pharmacy,” says Dr. Shawn Bugden, CPhA Chair. “Through his leadership and innovation, he is a testament to the many ways pharmacists make a difference to the health and wellness of Canadians and the health-care system.”

Dr. Mahmoud is grateful to his family for their continuous support and hopes that this award will help inspire future generations to embrace a career in pharmacy with enthusiasm and dedication.

“My advice for future pharmacists: Just because something hasn't been done before doesn't mean it can't be done. I faced challenges because I was among the first or one of the early adopters to do many things that hadn't been done before. However, these efforts paved the way for other pharmacists. Don’t give up!”

The Canadian Pharmacist of the Year Award is given annually by the Canadian Pharmacists Association to recognize a pharmacist who demonstrates leadership and exemplifies the evolution of the pharmacy profession toward an expanded role in health care.

Learn more about Sherif Hanafy Mahmoud, CPhA’s 2024 Canadian Pharmacist of the Year.

About the Canadian Pharmacists Association

The Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA) is the uniting national voice of pharmacy and the pharmacist profession in Canada. As pharmacists undertake an enhanced role in the delivery of health care services, CPhA ensures that the profession is recognized as a national leader in health care, influencing the policies, programs, budgets and initiatives affecting the profession and the health of Canadians. 

For more information, please contact:

Tyler Gogo
Senior Manager, Communications
Canadian Pharmacists Association