Facebook Share
Twitter Share
LinkedIn Share
Google Plus Share
Email Share

Canadian Pharmacists Association Welcomes New President

OTTAWA, June 28, 2012 – Paula MacNeil, Senior Director of Professional Affairs with Shoppers Drug Mart, Atlantic Region, has been named the new President of the Canadian Pharmacists Association (CPhA) for 2012-2013. Ms MacNeil was inaugurated at the CPhA National Conference in Whistler, BC. Elected as the New Brunswick representative on the CPhA Board of Directors in 2005, Ms MacNeil succeeds Mr Jody Shkrobot, who served as President for the 2011-2012 term.

Ms MacNeil graduated from Dalhousie University College of Pharmacy in 1987, and began practising community pharmacy at Shoppers Drug Mart in her hometown of Sydney, NS. In 1990, she relocated to Moncton, NB, and worked in various capacities with Shoppers Drug Mart until accepting a position in pharmacy operations at the Atlantic Regional Office in 1997. Ms MacNeil was promoted to Director of Pharmacy, Atlantic Region, in 2001, and moved into her current role with Shoppers Drug Mart as Senior Director of Professional Affairs, Atlantic Region, in 2010.

Throughout her career, Ms MacNeil has volunteered her time and expertise with provincial pharmacy associations in New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. She is a past Chair of the Board of the Dalhousie Pharmacy Endowment Fund and was named the Dalhousie College of Pharmacy 2010 Alumnus of the Year.

“I am proud to have been elected President of CPhA. I am ready to serve our members by providing leadership as we continue to advance the profession and enhance patient outcomes,” said Ms MacNeil. “Pharmacy is undergoing drastic change and pharmacists across the country are implementing innovative programs as they continue to expand their roles in the health care system,” she said. “CPhA will continue to support the profession as we move forward, ensuring that pharmacists are practicing to the full extent of our abilities and that the value of our services is recognized by governments and the public.”

“I would like to offer Paula my warmest welcome as the new CPhA President,” said Past President Jody Shkrobot. “I have enjoyed working with Paula over the years and I am confident she will successfully guide the association as our profession continues to evolve.”

The CPhA Board of Directors also welcomes Sherry Peister as the new President-Elect, and Janet Bradshaw, Jane Farnham-Verway and Miguel Lopez-Dee as Vice Presidents.

The Canadian Pharmacists Association is the national voluntary association for pharmacists, committed to providing leadership for the profession and improving the health of Canadians.


For more information, please contact:

Jeff Morrison,
Director of Government Relations and Public Affairs
613-523-7877 ext. 386 or 1 800 917-9489 ext. 386